Back To Archives

German team wins the the DHL Prize at Aachen
Aachen, Germany
Andreas Dibwoski (GER) and FRH Serve Well
Teams representing Canada in Dressage at the 2009 North American Junior and Young Rider Championships in Lexington, Kentucky July 21-26, 2009 have been announced.

The Junior riders will be represented by a total of nine athletes and their horses. This represents all the junior riders who achieved or exceeded the qualifying technical average score of 64%.

Team Ontario will include the following riders:
Rider / Home Town / Horse / Owner
Zachary Ball / Mountain, ON / Karajan / Sarah McIlwham
Alexandra Dvorak / Hillsburgh, ON / Fling / Alexandra Dvorak
Megan Lane / Collingwood, ON / Caravella / Megan Lane
Maura O'Sullivan / Toronto, ON / Pik Czar / Terrence O'Sullivan

Team Canada West will include the following riders:
Ariana Chia / Winnipeg, MB / Odilon / Jennifer Kirschman
Sylvie Fraser / Armstrong, BC / Majic / Chelsea Balcaen
Monica Houweling / Delta, BC / Stentano / Monica Houweling
Devon Luca / Pitt Meadows / Jyl Sander / Devon Luca

One additional rider and horse from Quebec, Anne Mylaine Messier riding Marzipan, exceeded the qualifying technical average score and will therefore compete at the Junior Championships as an individual.

Showing the strength of young rider development in dressage in Canada, a total of seven Young Riders and their horses achieved or exceeded the qualifying technical average of 64%, and all seven have been named to represent Canada at the Championships at the Young Rider level.

Team Ontario will include the following riders:
Jade Deter / Kemptville, ON / Mastermind / Jade Deter
Jaimie Holland / Caledon, ON / Fleurina / Jaimie Holland
Amy Jager / Puslinch, ON / Jive / Amy Jager
Daisy Kosa / Toronto, ON / Robic / Katharine Renison

Amy Jager achieved a qualifying technical average with a second horse, Key West, and in the event it becomes necessary, she will be entitled to substitute Key West as her Team horse. The following two Young Riders also achieved the qualifying technical average and will be entitled to participate in the Championships as individuals:

Annie-Pier Venne / L’Assomption, QC / Step Up / Annie-Pier Venne
Lindsay Seidel-Wassenaar / BLUFFTON, AB / Oslo / Lindsay Seidel-Wassenaar

"It was such a pleasure to preside over a selection process that ultimately allows all riders and horses who achieved the qualifying technical average to participate in the Championships," said Claire Milton, chair of the Selection Committee. "The event is such an important milestone in the development of our future international athletes, and we are confident that we are sending a very strong contingent to the 2009 Championships. We wish them all the very best."

Back To Archives

Copyright © 1990-2018 Red Bay Group, LLC